Catch Share Programs by Region

New England


Atlantic Highly Migratory Species

South Atlantic


  • No catch share programs

Gulf of Mexico

North Pacific


Western Pacific

  • No catch share programs

Note: From 1996 to 2002, there was a congressional moratorium on the establishment of new IFQ programs.

In 2007, Congress reauthorized the Magnuson-Stevens Act, Section 303A with provisions for limited access privilege programs.

Additional Resources


North Pacific

NOAA Fisheries Alaska Region

North Pacific Council

West Coast

Pacific Council

South Atlantic & Gulf of Mexico

Gulf of Mexico Council

South Atlantic Council

Greater Atlantic

New England Council

Mid-Atlantic Council

More Information