## 2025 GUBERNATORIAL NOMINATIONS TO THE REGIONAL FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCILS

On August 10, 2025, 20 terms will expire for 10 obligatory (state-specific) and 10 at-large (regional) seats on the 8 Regional Fishery Management Councils (RFMCs). Listed below are the Governors' nominations for vacant seats this year. NOAA Fisheries determined the nominees listed to be qualified for their respective vacancy.

## **Public Endorsements for Council Nominees**

Each year, the Secretary of Commerce selects individuals to serve on the nation's eight RFMCs, which play a vital role in the sustainable management of U.S. fisheries. Members of the public, including industry stakeholders, community representatives, and other interested parties, may submit written endorsements in support of nominees' qualifications and contributions to fisheries management.

## How to Submit an Endorsement:

- **Deadline**: Endorsements should be submitted during the appointment review period, typically between Mid-March and June.
- **Content**: Endorsements should include the nominee's name and a statement of support relevant to their qualifications.
- **Send To:** For timely receipt, send your endorsement to council.appointments@noaa.gov.

<sup>\*</sup> The incumbent is renominated

NEW ENGLAND FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL						
	Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent Fishing Sector Term #				
NH		Peter Whalen	Recreational	1st Term		
		At-L	arge Seats			
MA		Eric Hansen	Commercial	1st Term		
RI	Ric	chard Bellavance^ Recreational 3rd Term				
State	Seat	Gov	ernor Submitted Nomin	ees:		
ME	Obligatory:	N/A				
IVIE	At-Large:	No Submission				
N 4 A	Obligatory:	N/A				
MA	At-Large:	Eric Hansen*	Aubrey Church	Justin Moore		
NILL	Obligatory:	Peter Whalen*	Scot Calitri	Dale Pike		
NH	At-Large:	No Submission				
RI	Obligatory:	N/A				
I KI	At-Large:	Francis Blount	Gregory Mataronas	Andrew Dangelo		
СТ	Obligatory:	N/A				
	At-Large:	No Submission				

<sup>\*</sup>Please note, we do not record or retain endorsement letters addressed to state & tribal governments.

<sup>^</sup> This member has served three consecutive terms and is ineligible by law for reappointment.

MID-ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL					
Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #	
DE	F	Paul Townsend^	Commercial	3rd Term	
		At-L	arge Seats		
MD		Scott Lenox	Recreational	2nd Term	
NJ		Peter Hughes^	Commercial	3rd Term	
VA		Kenneth Neill	Other	1st Term	
		Governor Su	bmitted Nominees:		
NY	Obligatory:		N/A		
INY	At-Large:		No Submission		
NJ	Obligatory:	N/A			
INJ	At-Large:	Jake Wiscott	Scot Mackey	James Dopkin	
PA	Obligatory:	N/A			
PA	At-Large:	No Submission			
MD	Obligatory:	N/A			
טועו	At-Large:	Scott Lenox*	Chimere Murrill	Austin Lewis	
	Ob line to man	Elizibeth Wooleyhan	Edward Hale	Jamar Campbell	
DE	Obligatory:	Kenneth Logan			
DE	At-Large:	Jamar Campbell	Kenneth Logan	Joseph Garvilla	
	At-Large:	Michael Sorrell			
VA	Obligatory:		N/A		
VA	At-Large:	Hillary Kent	Todd Janeski	James Minor	
NC	Obligatory:	N/A			
INC	At-Large:		No Submission		

	SOUTH ATLANTIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL					
	Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #		
NC	Robert Griner^		Commercial	3rd Term		
SC		Gary Borland	Recreational	1st Term		
	Governor Submitted Nominees:					
NC	Obligatory:	Alana Harrison	Brian Buff	Jack Cox		
INC		Francis Hemilright	Thomas Newman			
SC	Obligatory:	Pending				
GA	Obligatory:	N/A				
FL	Obligatory:	N/A				

GULF FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL							
	Obligatory Seats						
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #			
MS	Mi	chael McDermott	Recreational	1st Term			
TX	-	Troy Williamson	Recreational	2nd Term			
		At-L	arge Seats				
FL	-	Γhomas Frazer^	Other	3rd Term			
		Governor Su	ıbmitted Nominees:				
	Obligatory:	N/A					
FL	At-Large:	Michael Allen	Leiza Fitzgerald	Roger Barnhart			
		Michael Avinon					
AL	Obligatory:	N/A					
AL	At-Large:	No Submission					
MS	Obligatory:	Michael McDermott*	John Marquez	Ralph Humphrey			
INIO	At-Large:	No Submission					
1.4	Obligatory:	N/A					
LA	At-Large:	Robert Allain	Charlie Caplinger	Haley Bittermann			
TV	Obligatory:	Brenda Ballard	Douglass Boyd	Lily Walker			
TX	At-Large:	No Submission					

CARIBBEAN FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL						
At-Large Seats						
State	tate Incumbent Fishing Sector Term #					
VI	James Kreglo		Commercial	1st Term		
Governor Submitted Nominees:						
PR	At-Large:	t-Large: No Submission				
VI	At-Large:	No Submission				

	PACIFIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL					
	Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #		
ID	F	Peter Hassemer	Recreational	2nd Term		
		At-L	_arge Seats			
CA		Mark Gorelnik^	Recreational	3rd Term		
		Governor Su	ıbmitted Nominees:			
CA	Obligatory:	N/A				
CA	At-Large:	Jamie Diamond	Donna Kalez	Jason Diamond		
WA	Obligatory:	N/A				
VVA	At-Large:	No Submission				
Obligatory:			N/A			
OR	At-Large:	No Submission				
ID	Obligatory:	Peter Hassemer*	Joe Dupont	Michael Edmondson		
ID	At-Large:	N/A				

NORTH PACIFIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL						
	Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #		
AK	Angel Drobnica		Commercial	1st Term		
AK	Nicole Kimball		Commercial	2nd Term		
	Governor Submitted Nominees:					
A 1/2	Obligatory:	Angel Drobnica*	Nicole Kimball*	Forrest Bowers		
AK		Israel Payton				
WA	Obligatory:	N/A				

	WESTERN PACIFIC FISHERY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL					
	Obligatory Seats					
State		Incumbent	Fishing Sector	Term #		
AS		William Sword	Recreational	1st Term		
		At-L	arge Seats			
GU	,	Judith Guthertz Recreational 1st Term				
HI	Sha	elene Kamaka'ala	Other	1st Term		
	Governor Submitted Nominees:					
	Obligatory:	N/A				
HI	At-Large:	Pelikaokamanaoio Andrade	Edwin Watamura	Frederick Rice		
Obligatory: N/A						
GU	At-Large:	Judith Guthertz*	Michael Duenas	Jesse Rosario		
AS	Obligatory:	William Sword*	Tamiano Gurr	Gene Pan		
AS	At-Large:	Nathan Ilaoa	Edgar Feliciano	Pete Gurr		
CNIMI	Obligatory:	N/A				
CNMI	At-Large:		No Submission			