Giant Clam (Tridacna spp.)

Picture of giant clams.

About The Species

Giant clams are the largest living marine bivalves and typically inhabit tropical coral reefs in coastal regions throughout the Indo-Pacific. Giant clams are members of the Subfamily Tridacninae, which consists of two genera: Tridacna and Hippopus.

Currently, 7 giant clam species are candidate species for listing under the Endangered Species Act. This includes five species in the genus Tridacna (T. derasa, T. gigasT. mbalavuana (tevoroa), T. squamosa, and T. squamosina (costata) and two species in the genus Hippopus (H. hippopus and H. porcellanus). 

Learn more about giant clams


ESA Candidate

throughout its range

CITES Appendix II

throughout its range

Scientific Classification