Atlantic Highly Migratory Species Advisory Panel

Background

NOAA Fisheries consults with, and considers the comments of the Highly Migratory Species Advisory Panel (HMS AP) when preparing and implementing fishery management plans or amendments for Atlantic tunas, swordfish, billfish, and sharks. 

The members of the HMS AP represent commercial and recreational fishing interests, the scientific community, and the environmental community who are knowledgeable about Atlantic HMS and/or Atlantic HMS fisheries. HMS AP Members serve three-year terms, with approximately one-third of the total HMS AP members' terms expiring on December 31 of each year.

Advisory Panel Members

The persons listed below were appointed by NOAA Fisheries for the specific terms indicated.

Name Sector Association Term Email Address
Andre Boustany Academic Duke University Nicholas School of the Environment 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 andre.boustany@duke.edu
Robert Hueter Academic Center for Shark Research, Mote Marine Laboratory 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 rhueter@mote.org
David Kerstetter Academic Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 kerstett@nova.edu
Walter Golet Academic University of Maine School of Marine Sciences and Gulf of Maine Research Institute 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 walter.golet@maine.edu
Luke Harris Commercial Pure Harvest Seafood 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 Lpharris@outlook.com
Martin Scanlon Commercial F/V Provider II 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 proii2@yahoo.com
Jeff Oden Commercial F/V Sea Bound 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 slshcrkwtrwks@aol.com
Russell Hudson Commercial Directed Sustainable Fisheries, Inc. 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 DSF2009@aol.com
Scott Taylor Commercial Dayboat Seafood 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 scott@dayboatseafood.net
Andrew Marshall Commercial F/V Typhoon 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 Andrew@capeoysters.com
Terri Beideman Commercial United States Seafood Industry Association 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 terri.beideman@ussia.org
Charles Kluck Commercial   1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 charlie@marlindaddy.com
George Purmont Commercial   1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 purmont@icloud.com
Raymond Kane Commercial Cape Cod Commercial Fishermen's Alliance 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 ray@capecodfishermen.org
David Schalit Commercial American Bluefin Tuna Association 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 dschalit@gmail.com
Tim Pickett Commercial Lindgren-Pitman, Inc. 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 tim@lindgren-pitman.com
Shana Miller Environmental The Ocean Foundation 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 smiller@oceanfdn.org
Katie Westfall Environmental Environmental Defense Fund 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 kwestfall@edf.org
Benjamin Carr Environmental   1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 bencarr@gmail.com
Sonja Fordham Environmental Shark Advocates International 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 sonjaviveka@gmail.com
Robert Bogan Recreational   1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 captbogan@aol.com
Charles Caplinger Recreational New Orleans Big Game Fishing Club 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 charliec@howardweil.com
Stephen Iwicki Recreational   1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 siwicki@aol.com
Patrick Augustine Recreational   1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 paugustine3@verizon.net
Andrew Cox Recreational Marlin Magazine 1/1/2017 - 12/31/2019 tandrewcox@gmail.com
Rick Bellavance Recreational R.I. Party and Charter Boat Association 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 makosrule@verizon.net
Robert Navarro Recreational Fly Zone Fishing 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 fly@flyzonefishing.com
Michael Pierdinock Recreational CPF Charters "Perseverance"; Recreational Fishing Alliance 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 cpfcharters@yahoo.com
Rick Weber Recreational South Jersey Marina 1/1/2016 - 12/31/2018 rweber@southjerseymarina.com
Jason Schratwieser Recreational International Game Fish Association 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 jschratwieser@igfa.org
Mark Sampson Recreational Ocean City Charterboat Captains Association 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 sharkquest2@gmail.com
Greg Mayer Recreational F/V Fishin' Frenzy 1/1/2018 - 12/31/2020 greg@fishinfrenzy.com
Marcos Hanke Council Rep Caribbean Fishery Management Council N/A 787fishing@gmail.com
Tom Frazer Council Rep Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council N/A frazer@ufl.edu
Anna Beckwith Council Rep South Atlantic Fishery Management Council N/A AnnaBarriosBeckwith@gmail.com
Dewey Hemilright Council Rep Mid-Atlantic Fishery Management Council N/A fvtarbaby@embarqmail.com
Michael Sissenwine Council Rep New England Fishery Management Council N/A m.sissenwine@gmail.com
David Donaldson Commission Rep Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission N/A ddonaldson@gsmfc.org
Kirby Rootes-Murdy Commission Rep Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission N/A krootes-murdy@asmfc.org
Gregory Skomal State Rep Massachusetts Marine Fisheries N/A gregory.skomal@state.ma.us
Wallace Jenkins State Rep South Carolina Department of Natural Resources N/A Jenkinsw@dnr.sc.gov
Marcus Drymon State Rep Mississippi-Alabama Sea Grant - State Rep for Alabama N/A marcus.drymon@msstate.edu
Angel Willey State Rep Maryland Department of Natural Resources N/A angel.willey@maryland.gov
Jason Adriance State Rep Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries N/A jadriance@wlf.la.gov
Perry Trial State Rep Texas Parks and Wildlife Department N/A perry.trial@tpwd.texas.gov
Martha Guyas State Rep Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission N/A martha.guyas@myfwc.com
Randy Gregory State Rep North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries N/A randy.gregory@ncdenr.gov
Carolyn Belcher State Rep Georgia Department of Natural Resources N/A carolyn.belcher@gadnr.org
John Graves ICCAT Advisory Committee Virginia Institute of Marine Science N/A graves@vims.edu

Note: The terms of the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT) Advisory Commission, the regional fishery management councils, state agencies, and fisheries commissions do not expire and assignment and substitution of these Advisory Panel (AP) representatives is at their discretion of the respective agencies.

Meetings

NOAA Fisheries holds periodic meetings of the Atlantic HMS Advisory Panel to consider alternatives for the conservation and management of highly migratory species. Below are links to agendas and materials from upcoming and past meetings.

Upcoming Meetings

  • Fall 2018 TBD

Past Meetings

2018

2017

2016

  • December 1-2, 2016
  • September 7-8, 2016
  • March 29-31, 2016

For information about past meetings not listed here, please contact nmfs.sf.webmaster@noaa.gov.