NOAA Seeks Nominations for U.S. Seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission

January 26, 2018

Julie Speegle
Public Affairs Officer
(907) 586-7032

NOAA Fisheries is seeking nominations to fill two non-NOAA commissioner seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission. Terms for the current commissioners—who are eligible for reappointment—expire on March 31, 2018.

Through the IPHC, the United States and Canada have jointly managed the Pacific halibut fishery since 1923. Three U.S. commissioners represent the interests of the United States and all of its stakeholders in the Pacific halibut fishery, while working to manage the Pacific halibut stocks to levels that will permit the optimum yield from the fishery.

Of the three U.S. commissioners, one must be an official of NOAA—currently held by NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Administrator Dr. James Balsiger, who is also a voting member of the North Pacific Fishery Management Council. The other two must be knowledgeable or experienced concerning the North Pacific halibut fishery. Of these two:

  • One must be a resident of Alaska—currently held by Linda Behnken from Sitka, Alaska
  • One must be a non-resident of Alaska—currently held by Robert Alverson of Washington State

Commissioners receive no compensation for their services, but travel expenses for two to three trips per year are paid for by the U.S. Department of State. U.S. Commissioners are appointed for a term not to exceed two years, but are eligible for reappointment.

The notice of call for nominations will publish in the Federal Register Monday, January 29, 2018. Nominations and any supporting documentation must be received by February 28, 2018. Nominations may be submitted by one of the following methods:

Mail:     Mr. Patrick E. Moran
            Office of International Affairs and Seafood Inspection
            National Marine Fisheries Service
            1315 East-West Highway
            Silver Spring, MD 20910

Nominees will be vetted by the Department of Commerce and Department of State and forwarded to the Office of the President for consideration for presidential appointments.

Last updated by Alaska Regional Office on February 24, 2018