Skip to main content
Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Collaborative Management Strategy for the Gulf of Maine Atlantic Salmon Recovery Program

The collaborative management strategy is a system of governance to facilitate implementation of the 2019 Atlantic Salmon Recovery Plan

The collaborative management strategy (CMS) establishes a system of governance that describes the working relationships between the two Federal agencies (USFWS and NOAA-Fisheries), Maine Department of Marine Resources (MDMR), Penobscot Indian Nation (PIN) and stakeholders. Its purpose is to facilitate the implementation of the 2019 Final Recovery Plan and establish a platform for effective communications, transparency and decision making. 

Basic Structure of the CMS

Policy Board:  Senior level management within each of the three agencies and the tribe that engage on an as needed basis (High level decision making and dispute resolution on issues that cannot be resolved at the Management Board level). 

Implementation Team (IT): The IT serves to oversee the implementation of the CMS. This includes evaluating activities necessary to implement the recovery actions in the Recovery Plan; formulating recovery priorities for Atlantic salmon; identifying and establishing the charge for standing committees and Ad Hoc committees; providing support and direction to Salmon Habitat Recovery Unit (SHRU) Teams to ensure resources are committed in a transparent and defensible manner; and ensure the effective implementation of the Collaborative Management Strategy as it is described in the CMS guidance document. The IT is composed of a 4-member management board representing the two federal agencies, MDMR and the PIN along with an additional supporting member from each agency, the SHRU Team Chairs, a science liaison and an administrative coordinator.

  • Management board: The management board is composed of mid-level managers representing the 2 federal agencies, MDMR and the PIN. The Management Board members serve as the one voice for their respective agency when agency positions need to be established. 

SHRU Teams:  SHRU Teams are responsible for the planning, coordination and tracking of recovery efforts in their SHRUs. This includes: stakeholder collaboration; project identification and prioritization; identifying key areas for conservation; coordinating project implementation; maintaining SHRU work plans; developing stocking recommendations; tracking recovery progress; and annual reporting. 

SHRU Teams are made up of agency staff and stakeholders. Within each SHRU Team is a Coordination Committee that includes up to two staff members from each of the agencies and the PIN.  

Ad hoc and standing committees:  Committees can be formed by the management board to address specific issues and provide information to the implementation team or SHRU teams to help inform planning and decision making. Ad Hoc committees are short-term assignments whereas standing committees are long-term assignments.

More details about the organizational structure of the CMS can be found in Collaborative Management Strategy guidance document.

CMS Agency and Tribal Representatives

Implementation Team (*Chair)

 

Name

Organization

Email

Role

Julie Crocker

NOAA

Julie.Crocker@noaa.gov

Management Board

Rick Jacobson

USFWS

Rick_Jacobson@fws.gov

Management Board

Sean Ledwin*

DMR

Sean.Ledwin@maine.gov

Management Board

Dan McCaw

PIN

Dan.McCaw@penobscotnation.org

Management Board

Dan Tierney

NOAA

Dan.Tierney@noaa.gov

NOAA Supporting Member

Peter Lamothe

USFWS

Peter_Lamothe@fws.gov

USFWS Supporting Member

Ernie Atkinson

DMR

Ernie.Atkinson@maine.gov

Downeast Chair/ DMR Supporting Member

Paul Christman

DMR

Paul.Christman@maine.gov

Merrymeeting Bay Chair

Dan Kircheis

NOAA

Dan.Kircheis@noaa.gov

Penobscot Chair

Danielle Frechette

DMR

Danielle.Frechette@maine.gov

Administrative Coordinator

Sean Hayes

NOAA

Sean.Hayes@noaa.gov

Science Liaison

 

Penobscot Bay SHRU Coordinating Committee  (* Chair)

 

Name

Organization

Email

Meredith Bartron

USFWS

Meredith_Bartron@fws.gov

Oliver Cox

USFWS

Oliver_Cox@fws.gov

Mitch Simpson

DMR

Mitch.Simpson@maine.gov

Peter Ruksznis

DMR

Peter.Ruksznis@maine.gov

Dan McCaw

PIN

Dan.McCaw@PenobscotNation.org

Dan Kircheis*

NOAA

Dan.Kircheis@noaa.gov

 

Downeast Coastal SHRU Coordinating Committee (*Chair)

Name

Organization

Email

Ernie Atkinson*

DMR

ernie.atkinson@maine.gov

Colby Bruchs

DMR

Colby.Bruchs@maine.gov

Denise Buckley

USFWS

Denise_Buckley@fws.gov

Scott Craig

USFWS

Scott_Craig@fws.gov

Rory Saunders

NOAA

Rory.Saunders@noaa.gov

 

Merrymeeting Bay SHRU Coordinating Committee (*Chair)

Name

Organization

Email

Paul Christman*

DMR

Paul.Christman@maine.edu

Jennifer Noll

DMR

jennifer.b.noll@maine.gov

Kieth McGilvray

USFWS

Kieth_McGilvray@fws.gov

Chris Meaney

USFWS

Chris_Meaney@fws.gov

Matt Buhyoff

NOAA

Matt.Buhyoff@noaa.gov

SHRU Annual Reports

Each year the Implementation Team and SHRU Teams complete an annual report detailing progress towards implementing the Recovery Plan for the entire Gulf of Maine DPS and for each SHRU. The most recent annual report is provided below. For previous year reports back to 2020 please contact Dan Tierney, Atlantic Salmon Recovery Coordinator, (207) 866-3755 or dan.tierney@noaa.gov

SHRU Workplans (Coming Soon)

Each SHRU team is also charged with developing a 5-year workplan. We are currently preparing a summary of these documents to make available on this site. To access the full workplans please contact the respective SHRU Chairs.

  • Merrymeeting Bay SHRU
  • Downeast SHRU 
  • Penobscot SHRU

Calendar of Meetings and Events (Coming Soon)

 

Resources

document

Guidance Document: Collaborative Management Strategy for the Gulf of Maine Atlantic Salmon Recovery Program

This document is intended to provide direction and transparency in decision-making. The agencies and the Penobscot Indian Nation (PIN) recognize…

document

2022 Report: Collaborative Management Strategy for the Gulf of Maine Atlantic Salmon Recovery Program

This report includes four sections. The first is a high-level summary of the status of the Gulf of Maine DPS of Atlantic salmon in relation to the…

Last updated by Greater Atlantic Regional Fisheries Office on July 27, 2022