Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Designation of Critical Habitat for Southern Distinct Population Segment of Eulachon


The final rule to designate the critical habitat for the southern DPS of Eulachon
Endangered Species Act
Action Status
Final Rule
Affected Species


We, NOAA Fisheries, issue a final rule to designate critical habitat for the southern Distinct Population Segment (DPS) of Pacific eulachon (Thaleichthys pacificus), pursuant to section 4 of the Endangered Species Act (ESA). We designate 16 specific areas as critical habitat within the states of California, Oregon, and Washington. The designated areas are a combination of freshwater creeks and rivers and their associated estuaries, comprising approximately 539 km (335 mi) of habitat. The Tribal lands of four Indian Tribes are excluded from designation after evaluating the impacts of designation and benefits of exclusion associated with Tribal land ownership and management by the Tribes. No areas were excluded from designation based on economic impacts.

Last updated by Office of Protected Resources on 04/08/2022