Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Department of Commerce Announces 2024 Appointments to the Regional Fishery Management Councils

June 27, 2024

The Secretary of Commerce appoints 22 new and returning members of the regional fishery management councils.

Commercial fishing boats docked at a pier in Whittier, Alaska with mountains and fog in the background. Commercial fishing boats docked at a pier in Whittier, Alaska. Credit: iStock

The U.S. Department of Commerce announces the appointment of 22 new and returning members to six of the regional fishery management councils. Appointments to the Pacific and North Pacific fishery management councils will be announced later this summer. The Secretary of Commerce made appointments for open council seats from the governors’ lists of nominees.

Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental organizations, and academia, along with state and federal agencies. They are vital to fulfilling the Magnuson-Stevens Act’s requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks, and manage them sustainably.

Each year, the Secretary of Commerce appoints approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. The Secretary selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories, and tribal governments.

The Secretary appoints council members to both state-specific and regional seats—also known as obligatory and at-large seats. They serve a three-year term and may be reappointed to three consecutive terms.

* Asterisk following a member’s name indicates a reappointment.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. 

Obligatory seat:

William Lucey (Connecticut)

Geoffrey Smith (Maine)*

Michael Pierdinock (Massachusetts)*

Theodore Platz (Rhode Island)

At-large seats:

Kristin “Togue” Brawn (Maine)*

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

Obligatory seat: 

Greg Hueth (New Jersey)

Skip Feller (Virginia)*

At-large seats:

Anna Beckwith (North Carolina)

James Gilmore (New York)

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. 

Obligatory seat: 

James Hull (Florida)

Judy Helmey (Georgia)*

At-large seats:

Charles Phillips (Georgia)

Thomas Roller (North Carolina)*

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands. 

Obligatory seat: 

Carlos Farchette (US Virgin Islands)*

At-large seats:

Vanessa Ramirez (Puerto Rico)*

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. 

Obligatory seat: 

Troy Frady (Alabama)

Juan "John" Sanchez (Florida)

Jonathan Dugas (Louisiana)*

At-large seat: 

Billy Broussard (Louisiana)*

Jason Osborne (Mississippi)

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. 

Obligatory seat:

Matthew Ramsey (Hawaii)*

Francisco Perez (Guam)