Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Management Unit Species and Ecosystem Component Species in the Pacific Islands Region

February 10, 2023

List of management unit species and ecosystem component species for the U.S. Pacific Islands region.

Pacific Islands region management unit species and ecosystem component species are identified in Fishery Ecosystem Plans and regulations. FEPs are prepared by the Western Pacific Fishery Management Council with associated regulations implemented by NOAA Fisheries. MUS typically include species caught in federal waters in quantities sufficient to warrant federal conservation and management by the Council and NOAA Fisheries. ECS are those species that the Council and NOAA Fisheries have determined do not require specific management, but are identified to achieve ecosystem management objectives.

The five FEPs for the Pacific Islands region cover:

  • American Samoa Archipelago
  • Hawai‘i Archipelago 
  • Mariana Archipelago
  • Pacific Remote Island Areas
  • Pelagic Fisheries of the Western Pacific

Last updated by Pacific Islands Regional Office on 03/03/2023