Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

MMPA List of Fisheries for 2024


Marine Mammal Protection Act
Action Status
Final Rule


NOAA Fisheries publishes its List of Fisheries for 2024, as required by the Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA). The List of Fisheries for 2024 reflects new information on interactions between commercial fisheries and marine mammals. NOAA Fisheries must classify each commercial fishery on the List of Fisheries into one of three categories under the MMPA based upon the level of mortality and serious injury of marine mammals that occurs incidental to each fishery. The classification of a fishery on the List of Fisheries determines whether participants in that fishery are subject to certain provisions of the MMPA, such as those on registration, observer coverage, and take reduction plan requirements.

Last updated by Office of Protected Resources on 02/16/2024

List of Fisheries