Team profile icon.

False Killer Whale Take Reduction Team Members

False Killer Whale Take Reduction Team Members

Overview

Under the 1994 amendments to the Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA), NOAA Fisheries is required to establish Take Reduction Teams to develop and implement Take Reduction Plans for reducing incidental mortality and serious injury to strategic stocks of marine mammals that interact with Category I and II commercial fisheries. Section 101(a)(5)(E) of the MMPA, 16 U.S.C. 1361 provides guidance regarding the membership and composition of Take Reduction Teams. 

Members of take reduction teams shall have expertise regarding the conservation or biology of the marine mammal species which the take reduction plan will address, or the fishing practices which result in the incidental mortality and serious injury of such species. Members shall include representatives of Federal agencies, each coastal State which has fisheries which interact with the species or stock, appropriate Regional Fishery Management Councils, interstate fisheries commissions, academic and scientific organizations, environmental groups, all commercial and recreational fisheries groups and gear types which incidentally take the species or stock, Alaska native organizations or Indian tribal organizations, and others as the Secretary deems appropriate. Take reduction teams shall, to the maximum extent practicable, consist of an equitable balance among representatives of resource user interests and nonuser interests. 

Academic and Scientific

Primary Alternate
Robin Baird

Cascadia Research Collective
Cascadia Research Collective 218 ½ W. 4th Ave.
Olympia, WA 98501

Tel: (360) 943-7325
E-mail: RWBaird@cascadiaresearch.org

-

Eric Gilman

Hawaiʻi Pacific University and Blue Ocean Institute
3661 Loulu Street
Honolulu, HI 96822

Tel: (808) 888-9440
E-mail: EricLGilman@gmail.com

Steve Beverly

465 rue des Frigates Mont Dore Sud 
98809, New Caledonia

Tel: 687-465289
E-mail: stevebeverly@hotmail.fr

Paul Nachtigall

University of Hawaiʻi, The Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology Marine Mammal Research Program
P.O. Box 1106
Kailua, HI 96734

Tel: (808) 247-5297
E-mail: nachtiga@hawaii.edu

Aude Pacini

46-007 Lilipuna Road
Kaneohe, HI 96744

Tel: (858) 337-6225
E-mail: aude@hawaii.edu

Victoria (Tory) O’Connell

Coastal Marine Research
107 Finn Alley
Sitka, AK 99835

Tel: (907) 738-4000
E-mail: victoria.oconnell@gmail.com

Jan Straley

University of Alaska Southeast
1332 Seward Avenue
Sitka, AK 99835

Tel: (907) 747-7779
E-mail: jan.straley@uas.alaska.edu

Andrew (Andy) Read

Duke University Marine Lab
135 Duke Marine Lab Road
Beaufort, NC 28516

Tel: (252) 504-7590
E-mail: aread@duke.edu

Dave Johnston

Duke University Marine Lab
135 Duke Marine Lab Road
Beaufort, NC 28516

Tel: (252) 504-7593
E-mail: david.johnston@duke.edu

 

Conservation and Environmental Groups

Primary Alternate

Hannah Bernard 

Hawaii Wildlife Fund
P.O. Box 790637
Paia, HI 96779

Tel: (808) 280-8124
E-mail: wild@aloha.net

-

Brendan Cummings

Center for Biological Diversity
P.O. Box 549
Joshua Tree, CA 92252

Tel: (760) 366-2232, ext. 304
E-mail: bcummings@biologicaldiversity.org

-

Michael Jasny

Natural Resources Defense Council
1314 Second Street
Santa Monica, CA 90401

Tel: (310) 434-2300
E-mail: mjasny@nrdc.org

-

Sharon Young

Humane Society of the United States 
22 Washburn Street
Sagamore Beach, MA 02562

Tel: (508) 833-0181
E-mail: syoung@hsus.org

-

 

Longline Fishery Industry

Primary Alternate

Roger Dang

Pacific Fishing & Supply, Inc. 
504 North Nimitz Highway
Honolulu, HI 96817

Tel: (808) 533-1195
E-mail: rogerdang@gmail.com

-

Clint Funderburg F/V Kraken

1105 15th Ave. Suite D110 
Longview, WA 98632

Tel: (541) 961-4766
E-mail: fvkraken@hotmail.com

Frank Crivello F/V Laura Ann

42915 Via Alhama
Temecula, CA 92592

Tel: (619) 200-7294
E-mail: crivello3@aol.com

John LaGrange F/V Janthina

533 N. Rios Ave.
Solana Beach, CA 92075 

Tel: (858) 755-7215
E-mail: john.lagrange@gmail.com

-

Trevor Ryder

P.O. Box 97
Battleground, WA 98604

Tel: (808) 347-0212
E-mail: trevortheleper@hotmail.com

-

Ryan Steen Stoel Rives LLP

600 University Street, Suite 3600, 
Seattle, WA 98101

Tel: (206) 386-7610
E-mail: RPSteen@stoel.com

Sean Martin 

Hawaii Longline Association 
45-519 Mokulele Dr., 
Kaneohe, HI 96744

Tel: (808) 537-2905
E-mail: sean@pop-hawaii.com

 

Federal and State Government and Fishery Management Organizations

Primary Alternate

Vacant

Western Pacific Fishery Management Council
1164 Bishop Street, Suite 1400
Honolulu, HI 96813

Asuka Ishizaki (Acting Primary)

Western Pacific Fishery Management Council
1164 Bishop Street, Suite 1400
Honolulu, HI 96813

Tel: (808) 522-8224
E-mail: Asuka.Ishizaki@noaa.gov

Dennis Heinemann

Marine Mammal Commission
4340 East-West Highway, Suite 700
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Tel: (301) 504-0087
E-mail: dheinemann@mmc.gov

-

Ryan Okano

Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Division of Aquatic Resources 1151 Punchbowl St., Room 330
Honolulu, HI 96813

Tel: (808) 587-0083
E-mail: ryan.ly.okano@hawaii.gov

Brian Neilson

Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
Division of Aquatic Resources 1151 Punchbowl St., Room 330
Honolulu, HI 96813

Tel: (808) 227-7677
E-mail: brian.j.neilson@hawaii.gov

Kristy Long

The National Marine Fisheries Service Office of Protected Resources 
7600 Sand Point Way NE, Bldg. 4 
Seattle, WA 98115

Tel: (206) 526-4792
E-mail: Kristy.Long@noaa.gov

-

Ann Garrett

National Marine Fisheries Service Pacific Islands Regional Office
1845 Wasp Blvd., Bldg. 176
Honolulu, HI 96818

Tel: (808) 725-5130
E-mail: Ann.Garrett@noaa.gov

Susan Pultz

National Marine Fisheries Service Pacific Islands Regional Office
1845 Wasp Blvd., Bldg. 176
Honolulu, HI 96818

Tel: (808) 725-5150
E-mail: Susan.Pultz@noaa.gov