Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Department of Commerce Announces 2020 Appointments to the Regional Fishery Management Councils

June 22, 2020

The Secretary of Commerce announces the appointment of 22 new and returning members of the eight regional fishery management councils.

Two-spot red snapper

The U.S. Department of Commerce today announced the appointment of 22 members to the regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA Fisheries to manage marine fishery resources.

Established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, councils are responsible for developing region-specific fishery management plans that safeguard and enhance the nation’s fisheries resources. Council members represent diverse groups, including commercial and recreational fishing industries, environmental organizations, and academia. They are vital to fulfilling the act’s requirements to end overfishing, rebuild fish stocks, and manage them sustainably.

NOAA Fisheries works closely with the councils through the process of developing fishery management plans. We also review, approve, and implement the plans.

Each year, the Secretary of Commerce appoints approximately one-third of the total 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. The Secretary selects members from nominations submitted by the governors of fishing states, territories and tribal governments.

Council members are appointed to both state-specific and regional seats—also known as obligatory and at-large seats, respectively.  Council members serve a three-year term and may be reappointed to serve three consecutive terms.


An asterisk preceding a member’s name indicates a reappointment.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New
Hampshire, and Rhode Island. 2020 appointees will fill four at-large seats.

At-large seats:

Alan Tracy (Maine)

*Elizabeth Etrie (Massachusetts)

*John Pappalardo (Massachusetts)

Daniel Salerno (New Hampshire)

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New
Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. 2020 appointees will fill four
obligatory seats for Maryland, North Carolina, New York and Pennsylvania and one at-large

Obligatory seat:

*Earl Gwin (Maryland)

*F. Dewey Hemilright (North Carolina)

Paul Risi (New York)

Michelle Duval (Pennsylvania)

At-large seats:

Danny Farnham (New York)

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South
Carolina. 2020 appointees will fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats:

*W. Chester Brewer (Florida)

Kerry Marhefka (South Carolina)

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The
2020 appointee will fill one obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.

Obligatory seat:

*Marcos Hanke (Puerto Rico)


Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas.
2020 appointees will fill three at-large seats.

At-large seat:

*Robert Shipp (Alabama)

*Phillip Dyskow (Florida)

*Gregory Stunz (Texas)

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The
Pacific Council also includes one Tribal seat. 2020 appointees will fill one obligatory seat for
Washington and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

A. Butch Smith (Washington)

At-large seat:

*Bradley Pettinger (Oregon)

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. 2020 appointees will
fill two obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:

*Simon Kinneen (Alaska)

*Kenneth Down (Washington)

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, and the
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. 2020 appointees will fill one obligatory seat for
the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

*John Gourley (Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands)

At-large seats:

*F. McGrew Rice (Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands)

Roger Dang (Hawaii)