Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

NOAA Announces Membership for the American Fisheries Advisory Committee

November 08, 2022

The committee was established to make recommendations for Saltonstall-Kennedy priorities and grant award funding.

fishing-vessel-pt-judith.jpg Fishing vessel in Point Judith, Rhode Island. Credit: NOAA Fisheries.

NOAA Fisheries announced the selection of members for the new American Fisheries Advisory Committee. The committee was established by the American Fisheries Advisory Committee Act in May 2022 to make recommendations for Saltonstall-Kennedy priorities and grant award funding.

The Act requires the committee to have three representatives from each of six regions as well as four at-large members. These must include one representative each from the retail and marketing sector, commercial fisheries, recreational fisheries, and NOAA Fisheries. Members from each of the six regions represent seafood sectors including processors, recreational and commercial fishermen, seafood farmers, fisheries scientists, and regional fishery management council members.

The committee’s first meeting will be held in Seattle, Washington, the week of December 12, 2022. They will evaluate and make recommendations for the annual Saltonstall-Kennedy grant competition.

Saltonstall-Kennedy funds provide grants or cooperative agreements for fisheries research and development projects addressing aspects of U.S. fisheries including harvesting, processing, marketing, and associated business infrastructure. These grants and cooperative agreements are made on a competitive basis—subject to availability of funding—to assist in:

  • Executing projects that optimize the economic benefits of building and maintaining sustainable fisheries and practices
  • Dealing with the impacts of conservation and management measures
  • Increasing other opportunities to support working waterfronts

American Fisheries Advisory Committee

Below are the members from each region and the sectors they represent. Remaining members will be upon confirmation of their appointment.

Region 1 — Alaska, Hawaii, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, American Samoa

  • Phillip Fernandez, Hawaii – Science/Management
  • Rebecca Skinner, Alaska – Fishing/Farming
  • Julianne Curry, Alaska – Harvester/Processor

Region 2 — Maine, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut

  • Mark Alexander, Connecticut – Science/Management
  • Beth Casoni, Massachusetts – Harvester/Processor
  • Jessica Hathaway, Maine – Fishing/Farming

Region 3 — Texas, Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, Florida, Arkansas, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

  • Michael Stephens, Florida – Harvester/Processor
  • John Supan, Louisiana – Fishing/Farming
  • Marcos Hanke, Puerto Rico – Science/Management 

Region 4 — California, Washington, Oregon, Idaho

  • Lori French, California – Harvester/Processor
  • Pete Granger, Washington – Science/Management

Region 5 — New Jersey, New York, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia

  • Mike Leonard, Virginia – Fishing/Farming 
  • Charles Phillips, Georgia – Harvester/Processor
  • Laxman Kanduri, New Jersey – Science/Management

Region 6 — Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania

  • Ronald Rogness, Wisconsin – Fishing/Farming
  • Mark Palicki, Illinois – Harvester/Processor 
  • Beau Braymer, Michigan – Science Management 

At Large

  • Matthew Alward, Alaska – Commercial Fishing Supply Chain
  • Kellie Ralston, Florida, Recreational Fishing Supply Chain
  • Vernon Sato, Hawaii,  Food Distribution, Seafood Marketing
  • Derek Orner, NOAA Fisheries Representative

Last updated by Office of Communications on January 04, 2024