Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

NOAA Fisheries Appoints 11 Members to New Recreational Electronic Reporting Task Force

April 16, 2020

Members will serve on a task force under the agency’s Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee.

Fisherman using app_David Bard_2019.png

Today, NOAA Fisheries announced the appointment of 11 members to the new Recreational Electronic Reporting Task Force. The task force was established under the auspices of the agency’s Marine Fisheries Advisory Committee, also known as MAFAC. Task Force members will draw on their expertise to evaluate and make recommendations on resource policies.

“Our new task force members have a wealth of expertise balanced among a variety of disciplines related to the generation, delivery, and use of electronic data, and public attitudes about participating in electronic reporting programs. Their guidance will assist efforts to improve recreational fishing data to maximize sustainable fishing opportunities,” said Dr. Cisco Werner, Chief Science Advisor for NOAA Fisheries. “Some new members are scientists or researchers in these fields, while others have applied experience. We are excited to welcome all of them to the MAFAC team.

The members represent a wide spectrum of skills, including:

  • Sampling statistics
  • Survey methodologies
  • Citizen science
  • Fishery stock assessment science
  • Electronic monitoring or reporting
  • Fisheries management
  • Database development and management
  • Mobile technology applications (apps)
  • Marine recreational fishing

Ultimately, their work will provide expert advice to MAFAC and NOAA Fisheries leadership. “We are committed to assessing the current and possible future use of electronic reporting options for private anglers. The work of the task force will contribute to the development of an agency roadmap to advance and guide implementation of electronic data collection in private recreational fisheries,” said Dr. Werner. 

The initial actions for consideration by the Task Force include:

  1. Identify and prioritize known data gaps relative to NOAA Fisheries’ role in supporting management of marine recreational fisheries that could be addressed through mandatory or voluntary private recreational angler electronic reporting programs.
  2. Identify realistic and achievable goals for voluntary (also known as opt-in) and mandatory electronic reporting for private recreational anglers, as well as associated challenges and solutions, where identifiable.
  3. Provide recommendations on how the aforementioned goals could be best supported or achieved by NOAA Fisheries.

The 11 new task force members are:

  • Lucas Bissett, Slidell, Louisiana
    USCG licensed Captain and owner of a fly-fishing guide service, Lowtide Charters
  • Michael Christopher, Irving, Texas
    Managing Director of Elemental Methods, LLC
  • Chip Collier, Charleston, South Carolina
    Deputy Director for Science, South Atlantic Fishery Management Council
  • John T. Froeschke, Tampa, Florida
    Deputy Executive Director and Fishery Biologist-Statistician, Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council
  • Tyler Garber, Olympia, Washington
    Mark Selective Fisheries Biologist, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • Kelly Garvy, Durham, North Carolina
    Founder, Upstate
  • Francine Karp, Greenwich, Rhode Island
    Data Collection, Harbor Light Software   
  • Sean Simmons, British Columbia, Canada
    President, Angler’s Atlas
  • Gregory Stunz, Corpus Christi, Texas
    Executive Director of the Center for Sportfish Science and Conservation, Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies, Texas A&M University
  • Paul Venturelli, Muncie, Indiana
    Assistant Professor of fisheries science and management, Ball State University;  specializes in mobile technology applications
  • Amy Whitaker Dukes, Charleston, South Carolina
    Supervisor of data collection and management, South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

Last updated by Office of Policy on April 23, 2020