Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Nominate Outstanding Leaders in Wetland Conservation

October 11, 2019

Nominations for the National Wetlands Awards are open until December 20, 2019.

Chincoteague Bay_Maryland_Stephen Heverly.jpg

Do you know someone deserving of special recognition for outstanding leadership and achievements in the conservation and restoration of our nation's wetlands? If so, we invite you to nominate them for one of six achievement and recognition awards.

We are seeking nominations for the 31st Annual National Wetlands Awards now through December 20, 2019. See the nomination form and more information about award eligibility.

The National Wetlands Awards Program, administered by the Environmental Law Institute (ELI), has honored more than 200 wetland champions since its establishment in 1989. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the conservation and restoration of our nation's wetlands. In 1999, NOAA was the first partner to join with ELI in honoring wetland conservation heroes.

Wetlands Awards Image_edited.png

Joel Gerwein receives 2019 National Wetlands Award from Nicole LeBoeuf, Acting Assistant Administrator for NOAA’s National Ocean Service. Photo: David Gerwin.

Six individuals received a 2019 National Wetlands Award. At the National Wetlands Award Ceremony last May in Washington, DC. Nicole LeBoeuf, Acting Assistant Administrator for NOAA’s National Ocean Service, presented the National Wetlands Award for Conservation and Restoration to Joel Gerwein, South Coast Program Deputy Manager with the California Coastal Conservancy. The award recognized his efforts over the past 11 years to protect and restore wetlands, eradicate invasive grasses, and recover endangered birds and fish along the Northern California coast.

Award recipients will be honored in Washington, DC during American Wetlands Month in May 2020.  

Last updated by Office of Habitat Conservation on October 16, 2019