Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

NOAA Seeks Nominations for U.S. Seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission

May 04, 2015

Terms for the current commissioners expire on December 31, 2015.

Julie Fair
Public Affairs Officer
(907) 586-7032

NOAA Fisheries is seeking nominations to fill two non-NOAA commissioner seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission. Terms for the current commissioners—who are eligible for reappointment—expire on December 31, 2015.

Through the IPHC, the United States and Canada have jointly managed the Pacific halibut fishery since 1923. Three U.S. commissioners represent the interests of the United States and all of its stakeholders in the Pacific halibut fishery, while working to manage the Pacific halibut stocks to levels that will permit the optimum yield from the fishery.

Of the three U.S. commissioners, one must be an official of NOAA—currently held by NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Administrator Dr. James Balsiger, who is also a voting member of the North Pacific Fishery Management Council. The other two must be knowledgeable or experienced concerning the North Pacific halibut fishery. Of these two:

  • One must be a resident of Alaska—currently held by Donald Lane from Homer, Alaska
  • One must be a non-resident of Alaska—currently held by Robert Alverson of Washington State

Commissioners receive no compensation for their services, but travel expenses for two to three trips per year are paid for by the U.S. Department of State. U.S. Commissioners are appointed for a term not to exceed two years, but are eligible for reappointment.

The notice of call for nominations will publish in the Federal Register tomorrow. Nominations will be solicited for 30 days. Nominations may be submitted by one of the following methods:


Mr. Patrick Moran
National Marine Fisheries Service Office of International Affairs
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910

(301) 713-2313

The nomination period closes 30 days after the notice of call for nominations is published in the Federal Register. At the close of the nomination period, the names of all nominees will be posted on the Alaska Regional website.

At that time, the public will have the opportunity to submit comments on the nominations for a period of 30 days. Public comments may be sent to:


Mr. Pete Jones
NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Office
P.O. Box 21668
Juneau, AK 99802-1668

(907) 586-7249

Nominees will be vetted by the Department of Commerce and Department of State and forwarded to the Office of the President, with the goal of receiving presidential appointments by January 1, 2016.

Last updated by Alaska Regional Office on May 13, 2022