Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Nomination Period Extended for U.S. Seats on International Pacific Halibut Commission

August 18, 2015

Terms for the current commissioners expire on December 31, 2015.

Julie Fair
Public Affairs Officer
(907) 586-7032

NOAA Fisheries is extending the nomination period for candidates to fill two U.S. Commissioner seats on the International Pacific Halibut Commission. Terms for the current commissioners expire on December 31, 2015.

In May 2015, NOAA Fisheries publicly solicited nominations for two presidential appointments to serve as U.S. Commissioners to the IPHC. The nomination process yielded two names for the two expiring seats, both re-nominations of the current commissioners. U.S. Commissioners to the IPHC are appointed for a term not to exceed 2 years, and are eligible for reappointment.

While this recent solicitation of nominations resulted in two strong candidates, NOAA Fisheries is seeking a greater number of nominations from which to propose two candidates for appointment by the President. The lack of a larger candidate pool impacts the ability of the recommending officials to propose Alternate Commissioners. The Secretary of State, in consultation with the Secretary of Commerce, may designate Alternate U.S. Commissioners to serve in the absence of duly appointed U.S. Commissioners.

Through this announcement, NOAA extends the original public solicitation period for nominations from the original deadline of June 4, 2015, until September 18, 2015.

Nominations may be submitted by one of the following methods:

Email: IPHC2015nominations@noaa.gov
Mail: Mr. Patrick Moran
National Marine Fisheries Service Office of International Affairs
1315 East-West Highway
Silver Spring, MD 20910
FAX: 301-713-2313

Nominations must be received by September 18, 2015. Nominations for IPHC U.S. Commissioner and letters of public support that have already been submitted in response to the original solicitation notice do not need to be resubmitted. Nominations are open to all qualified individuals and may include current Commissioners.

A list of nominees will be published on the NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Office web site on September 23, 2015. Public comments relating to this list of nominees will be accepted until October 26, 2015, and may be sent to:

Email: IPHC2015comments@noaa.gov
Mail: Mr. Pete Jones
NOAA Fisheries Alaska Regional Office
P.O. Box 21668
Juneau, AK 99802-1668
FAX:    (907) 586-7249

Nominees will be vetted by the Department of Commerce and Department of State and forwarded to the Office of the President, with the goal of receiving presidential appointments by January 1, 2016.

Last updated by Alaska Regional Office on May 13, 2022