Groundfish Sablefish Ownership Interest
A valid Sablefish-endorsed Pacific Coast Groundfish Fishery limited entry permit (LEP) is required to participate in the sablefish primary season for the limited entry fixed gear fishery. However, a non-sablefish endorsed LEP fixed-gear permit can be used to catch sablefish against the daily/weekly limit fishery, and the open-access sablefish fishery can be fished without a permit.
Because sablefish-endorsed LEPs must be purchased from existing holders, there is no application to receive one. However, a completed Sablefish Ownership Interest Form must be submitted to the given address with annual permit renewals and with any transfer request when the resulting sablefish endorsed permit will list a business entity as either the permit owner or vessel owner. Additional sheets may be attached as necessary.
Fishery Type: Limited Access
Harvest Type: Commercial
Species Covered: Sablefish
Online Renewal: No – As part of the LEP renewal process, NOAA Fisheries will mail LEP renewal packets to permit owners prior to September 15 of each year. The renewal period is October 1st through November 30. A Sablefish Ownership Interest Form must be submitted by legally recognized corporations, partnerships and other business entities who own or hold a sablefish-endorsed Pacific Coast Groundfish Limited Entry Permit with the annual permit renewal, and with any transfer request when the resulting sablefish endorsed permit will list a business entity as either the permit owner or vessel owner.
Logbook Requirements: Yes
Transferable: Yes - LEP
Expiration Date: Annual, Expires December 31. Permits must be renewed each year by November 30.
Fishing Area: EEZ off of Washington, Oregon, and California coasts North of 36° N. lat.
Sablefish Ownership Interest Form (PDF, 3 pages). Expires November 30, 2022.
The West Coast Regional Office renews and transfers permits. Pacific Coast Groundfish Fishery Limited Entry permits were originally issued to vessel owners based upon their qualifying groundfish landings history. Because it is a limited entry fishery, no new permits can be issued. Regulations governing this fishery can be found at Code of Federal Regulations, Title 50, Part 660, Subpart E.
Carry endorsements pursuant to their target species and method. These include gear endorsements, size endorsements, sablefish endorsements, and Mothership/Catcher Vessel (MS/CV) Endorsements.
When NOAA Fisheries notifies the owner, operator, permit holder, or the manager of a harvesting vessel of any requirement to carry an observer, the harvesting vessel may not be used to fish for groundfish without carrying an observer. At least 24 hours (but not more than 36 hours) before departing on a fishing trip, a harvesting vessel that has been notified by NOAA Fisheries that it is required to carry an observer, or that is operating in an active sampling unit, must notify NOAA Fisheries (or its designated agent) of the vessel's intended time of departure.
Submit a completed electronic fish ticket(s) no later than 24 hours after the date of landing.
Carry an operational vessel monitoring system unit supplied and installed by the NOAA Office of Law Enforcement.
West Coast Groundfish Fishing Permits
West Coast Regional Office
7600 Sand Point Way NE, Bldg. 1
Seattle, WA 98115-0070
Species Covered By This Permit