Alaska Ecosystems

Alaska Ecosystems are made up of five large marine ecosystems.

Humpback whale dives among a large group of seabirds

Humpback whale dives amidst thousands of seabirds with the NOAA Ship Oscar Dyson is in the distance.

The Alaska Ecosystems include five large marine ecosystems. These ecologically distinct regions vary in their productivity and economies. The southeastern Bering Sea supports some of the most valuable commercial fisheries in the world for salmon and Walleye pollock. Many coastal communities depend on resources such as these, which will likely be impacted by climate-related changes to ocean and coastal ecosystems.

  • Gulf of Alaska
  • Eastern Bering Sea
  • Aleutian Islands
  • Beaufort Sea
  • Chukchi Sea