Skip to main content
Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

Initiation of a 5-Year Review of Five Foreign Sturgeon Species


Endangered Species Act
Action Status
Information Gathering


NMFS announces the initiation of a 5-year review for the following five foreign sturgeon species: Adriatic sturgeon (Acipenser naccarii), European sturgeon (A. sturio), Chinese sturgeon (A. sinensis), Sakhalin sturgeon (A. mikadoi), and Kaluga sturgeon (Huso dauricus). NMFS is required by the Endangered Species Act (ESA) to conduct 5-year reviews to ensure that the listing classifications of species are accurate. The 5-year review must be based on the best scientific and commercial data available at the time of the review. We request submission of any such information on these five sturgeon species, particularly information on the status, threats, and recovery of the species that has become available since their listing, effective July 2, 2014.

Last updated by Office of Protected Resources on 09/17/2020