Pygmy Killer Whale

About The Species

Pygmy killer whales are found primarily in deep waters throughout tropical and subtropical areas of the world. There are three recognized stocks in the U.S.: Hawaii, Northern Gulf of Mexico, and Western North Atlantic. Not much is known about this species and it is rarely seen.

Pygmy killer whales, like all marine mammals, are protected under the Marine Mammal Protection Act

NOAA Fisheries is committed to conserving and protecting pygmy killer whales. Our scientists and partners use a variety of innovative techniques to study, learn more about, and protect this species.

Learn more about pygmy killer whales


CITES Appendix II

throughout its range

MMPA Protected

throughout its range

Scientific Classification