What You Can Do to Help Recover Salmon and Steelhead on the West Coast

Several species of salmon and steelhead are endangered or threatened in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and California. You plan an important role in recovering these fish.

If we all work together, we can recover endangered and threatened salmon and steelhead in Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and California ---you play an important role. Whether you own many acres in the country or live in a city, your actions will help save these fish. Here's some things you can do to help recover Pacific salmon:

  • Be aware of what watershed you live in and learn about your local fish runs. Once you educate yourself, share information about salmon with your friends and neighbors. Help others learn what they can do to save habitat and fish.
  • Speak up for salmon and restoring their habitat. Request that city, county, state, and federal agencies provide adequate stream flows and other habitat protections in any of their actions that affect salmon habitat.
  • Dispose of household chemicals such as used motor oil, antifreeze, pesticides, and paints at approved collection facilities in your area. Many drains empty directly into rivers and streams.
  • Volunteer for stream enhancement projects. Find out if there is a local watershed council in your area that you can get involved with to protect and restore salmon.
  • Be an informed consumer. Don't use products that are harmful to the environment when safer alternatives exist.
  • Join and support organizations that advocate for protection of salmon and their habitat.
  • Conserve water and electricity.

If you would like to learn more about recovery efforts in your watershed or would like to get involved directly, please contact:

Recovery Planning and Implementation Program - West Coast

Robert Markle
Email: Robert.Markle@noaa.gov
Phone: 503.230.5419

Puget Sound

Elizabeth Babcock
Email: Elizabeth.Babcock@noaa.gov
Phone: 206.526.4505

David Price
Email: David.Price@noaa.gov
Phone: 360.753.9598

Jennifer Quan
Email: Jennifer.quan@noaa.gov
Phone: 360.753.6054

Lake Ozette

Bonnie Shorin
Email: Bonnie.Shorin@noaa.gov
Phone: 360.753-9578

Upper Columbia

Justin Yeager
Email: Justin.Yeager@noaa.gov
Phone: 509.962.8911 ext. 805

Snake River

Patty Dornbusch
Email: Patty.Dornbusch@noaa.gov
Phone: 503-230-5430

Chad Fealko
Email: Chad.Fealko@noaa.gov
Phone: 208.756.5105

Sarah Fesenmyer
Email: Sarah.Fesenmyer@noaa.gov
Phone: 208-378-5660

Bob Ries
Email: Bob.Ries@noaa.gov
Phone: 208.882.6148

Willamette River Basin

Annie Birnie
Email: Annie.Birnie@noaa.gov
Phone: 503.230.5407

Lower Columbia

Amy Kocourek
Email: Amy.Kocourek@noaa.gov
Phone: 360-753-4471

Oregon Coast

Annie Birnie
Email: Annie.Birnie@noaa.gov
Phone: 503.230.5407

Jim Muck
Email: Jim.B.Muck@noaa.gov
Phone: 541.947.3394

Southern Oregon and Northern California Coast

Julie Weeder
Email: Julie.Weeder@noaa.gov
Phone: 707.825.5168

North Central California Coast

Erin Seghesio
Email: Erin.Seghesio@noaa.gov
Phone: 707.578.8515

California Central Valley

Brian Ellrott
Email: Brian.Ellrott@noaa.gov
Phone: 906.930.3600

South Central California Coast

Mark Capelli
Email: Mark.Capelli@noaa.gov
Phone: 805.963.6478 x14

Last updated by West Coast Regional Office on January 21, 2020

Endangered Species Recovery