Skip to main content
Unsupported Browser Detected

Internet Explorer lacks support for the features of this website. For the best experience, please use a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, or Edge.

California Central Valley

About the West Coast Region Central Valley Office

California Cental Valley Office.jpg

About Us

The California Central Valley Office is located in Sacramento in the heart of California’s Central Valley, only a few blocks from the State Capitol. The office has responsibility for salmon, steelhead trout, and green sturgeon conservation and recovery in the geographic region from the San Francisco Bay east including waters of the Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta and its tributaries to their headwaters in the Sierras. We work in these river basins to protect species listed under the Endangered Species Act by evaluating the impact of proposed federal actions, developing recovery plans, seeking conservation partnerships with local governments and landowners, and ensuring safe fish passage past federal, and some private, dams.

Regulatory Work

Our office works with federal, state, and local partners to recover NOAA trust species. Part of our responsibilities include regulatory responsibilities under the Endangered Species Act, Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, Marine Mammal Protection Act, National Environmental Policy Act, or other natural resource related laws. To submit a request for Endangered Species Act Section Seven consultation please send your documents to our office via our consultation email inbox: ccvo.consultationrequests@noaa.gov

Assistant Regional Administrator

Cathy Marcinkevage

Phone: 916.930.5648
Email: Cathy.Marcinkevage@noaa.gov

Senior Policy Advisor

Howard Brown

Phone: 916.930.3608
Email: Howard.Brown@noaa.gov

Maria Rea

Phone: 916.930.3600
Email: maria.rea@noaa.gov

California Central Valley Office Division Manager

Tancy Mill

Phone: 916.930.3605
Email: Tancy.Mill@noaa.gov

Water Operations and Delta Consultations Branch

Garwin Yip

Phone: 916.930.3611
Email: Garwin.Yip@noaa.gov

Future Operations and Adaptive Management Branch

Stephen Maurano (acting)

Phone: (916) 930-3710
Email: stephen.maurano@noaa.gov

San Joaquin River Branch

Erin Strange

Phone: 916.930.3653
Email: Erin.Strange@noaa.gov

Sacramento River Branch

Ellen McBride

Phone: 916.930.3712
Email: Ellen.McBride@noaa.gov

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Branch

Steve Edmondson

Phone: 707.575.6052
Email: Steve.Edmondson@noaa.gov

Species and Topics of Interest

Videos

Last updated by West Coast Regional Office on November 13, 2020